

President
STEPHEN J. HILL
PO Box 659
Golden, CO 80402-0659
United States
Ph: 1-303-642-8142
shill@seg.org

May 27, 2010

Dr. Arthur Weglein University of Houston Dept of Physics SR-1 Room 617 Houston, TX 77204-5006

Dear Dr. Weglein,

It is my privilege to notify you of the unanimous decision of the SEG Honors and Awards Committee and the SEG Executive Committee selecting you to receive the Society's Reginald Fessenden Award. This honor is in recognition of your influence with the seismic industry through your work in inverse scattering.

Official recognition and presentation of your award will take place during SEG's 2010 Annual Meeting in Denver, Colorado USA, October 17-21. Prior to the Annual Meeting, you will be notified of the time and place scheduled for the presentation, and other details pertinent to accepting your award.

On behalf of the Society, congratulations on being selected to receive the Reginald Fessenden Award. Your important contributions to the sciences and our profession are greatly appreciated.

Sincerely

Steve Hill

SEG President 2009-2010

cc: Craig Beasley, Honors and Awards Committee Chair SEG Honors and Awards Committee Klaas Koster, SEG President-Elect