Principal Investigator


Dr. Jakoah Brgoch

Assistant Professor
Department of Chemistry
Office: STL 429
Phone: 713-743-6233
jbrgoch@uh.edu

Postdoctoral Research: University of California-Santa Barbara, 2012-2014
Ph.D.: Department of Chemistry, Iowa State University, 2012





Group Members


Dr. Anton Oliynyk

McElrath Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Office: STL 431
aoliynyk@uh.edu

Ph.D.: Department of Chemistry, University of Alberta, 2016

Research Focus: Informatics directed synthesis of superhard materials



Anna Duke

Graduate Research Assistant, Chemistry
Office: STL 431
acduke@uh.edu

B.S.: Chemistry, Sam Houston State University, 2013

Research Focus: Oxide based phosphors for solid-state lighting



Erin Finley

Graduate Research Assistant, Chemistry
Office: STL 431
efinley@uh.edu

B.A.: Life Sciences and Chemistry, Pennsylvania State University, 2013

Research Focus: Persistant luminescent phosphors for bioanalytical applications



Aria Mansouri

Graduate Research Assistant, Chemistry
Office: STL 431
amansouritehrani@uh.edu

B.S.: Materials Engineering & Metallurgy, Amirkabir University of Technology, 2014

Research Focus: Earth-abundant superhard materials



Sogol Lotfi

Graduate Research Assistant, Chemistry
Office: STL 431
slotfi@uh.edu

B.S.: Chemistry, Sharif University of Technology, 2015

Research Focus: Anionic transition metal chemistry



Ya Zhuo

Graduate Research Assistant, Chemistry
Office: STL 431
yzhuo@uh.edu

B.S.: Chemistry, Beijing Technology And Business University, 2011

Research Focus: Nitride-based phosphos for solid state lighting



Adheesha Danthanarayana

Graduate Research Assistant, Chemistry
(Joint advised with Richard Willson, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering)
Office: STL 431
andanthanarayana@uh.edu

B.S.: Chemistry, University Of Colombo, 2015

Research Focus: Persistant luminescent phosphors for bioanalytical applications



Undergraduate Researchers


Phu-Cuong Phan

Major: Biochemistry

Sean Bailey

Major: Chemical Engineering

Angelica Cobb

Major: Chemistry

Shruti Hariyani

Major: Chemistry

Amber Lim

Major: Chemistry

Gayatri Viswanathan

Major: Chemistry




 

Information regarding admission to the graduate program in the Department of Chemistry at U of H can be found here.




Past Group Photos

Summer 2016


Fall 2015


Spring 2015



Group Alumni


Dr. Martin Hermus, Post-doctoral fellow, 2014-2016

Now at OSRAM-Munich

Sean Eli, Undergraduate researcher, 2015-2016